Five Places to visit in Marina Bay, Singapore

Before I launch into the following list, I would love to share my immediate impressions of Singapore during my day long stop-over on the 23rd of July. When I initially left Changi Airport, several facts became quickly apparent. Singapore was hot, very hot, and I was not appropriately dressed for the climate. For those of you who intend to explore in Singapore, dress in summer clothes! The second fact that soon became apparent to me upon leaving the airport was that the transport system is highly advanced and blissfully simple to comprehend. I am not exaggerating when I say that I grasped a solid understanding of their ticketing and train system within minutes. After those minutes spent puzzling over the transport system, I set off for the 40 minute train ride which would lead me into Marina Bay. The sites listed below were visited within a relatively short time span (only around seven or so hours) and made for a wonderful day trip.

1. Marina Bay Sands

DSC_0507

This impressive hotel was opened midway through 2010 and has become a major attraction in Singapore. Whether you view it from the ground level, stay at the resort or travel to the top of this 55 storey building for an alternate view of the city, you are sure to be dazzled by its sheer size and stature.

2. The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands

The Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands complement the Marina Bay Sands Resort and contain a variety of high-end retail stores. It has been described by the owner as ‘one of Singapore’s largest luxury shopping malls’ on TripAdvisor and I personally found it memorable for its interior water feature and man-made canal, complete with a row-boat. The food court also contained a variety of tasty and inexpensive food. Browsing through the center’s many stores was also quite enjoyable.

3. The ArtScience Museum at Marina Bay

I must be honest and confess that due to time constraints, I was unable to explore the museum. Nonetheless, much pleasure was gained in capturing images of the unique structure of the building and the gorgeous lilies outside.

4. The Helix Bridge

This pedestrian bridge immediately caught my attention after I strolled out of the Shoppes. The bridge was opened in 2010 and has been hailed as an engineering marvel due to its unique DNA-like double helix shape. Be sure to bring your camera as the Helix bridge presents wonderful photo opportunities.

5. Gardens by the Bay

And now we come to my absolute favourite part of the trip. The gorgeous and magnificent Gardens by the Bay. It horrifies me to think that I almost missed out on visiting this last stop (I was terribly worried about missing my flight though it turns out that such fears had been unnecessary). As it is, I still wish that I could have had more time to explore the gardens fully, but I was completely pleased with my time spent there nonetheless. The bridges offer spectacular views and once again, design, creativity and brilliance combine to create a truly singular experience.

Despite the excessive heat and humidity, I found Singapore to be full of interesting sites and attractions and look forward to visiting again someday in the future. Hopefully next time I will be able to see the city lit up at night!

See links to official websites below.

Marina Bay Sands https://www.marinabaysands.com/index.html

Shoppes at Marina Bay Sands http://www.marinabaysands.com/shoppes.html

ArtScience Museum http://www.marinabaysands.com/museum.html

The Helix Bridge http://www.yoursingapore.com/content/traveller/en/browse/see-and-do/arts-and-entertainment/architecture/helix-bridge.html

Gardens by the Bay http://www.gardensbythebay.com.sg/en/home.html

6 comments

Leave a Reply

