A cold first day in Reykjavik, capital of Iceland

I stepped into Iceland’s capital for the first time on the 26th of June of this year. It was bitingly cold and overcast, but the city was nonetheless enchanting. From its park benches to its imposing churches, everything was arranged into a thoroughly picturesque state and traipsing through Reykjavik made for an experience like no other. If you are ever in Iceland, be sure to visit the Reykjavik City Hall, Tjornin Lake and Hallgrimskirkja Church. I hope you enjoy my snapshots from the city.

8 comments

  1. Wonderful photos. I’ve always wanted to visit Reykjavik. I often wonder how cold it is compared to Canada’s west coast. Perhaps I have what it takes to brave the weather?

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 It was pretty damn cold, but then, I’m from Australia, so maybe I’m just not acclimatised to their weather. It was summer when I visited, which is quite similar to our winter. I’ve never been to Canada, so I’m afraid I might not be much help there

      Like

      1. No worries! I have many reasons for you to visit one day. =) This might be surprising to you, but there are a lot of Aussies that find their way to Whistler for work and snowboarding!

        Like

      2. I would love to see more snow. I think I’ll have to add Canada to my travel list 🙂 There was some leftover snow from winter in Iceland, but there wasn’t much and it was somewhat muddy.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, you definitely should! Iceland is such an incredible country, not only for the beauty of its landscapes but also because of its culture. The people are so friendly there 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

